In Auckland

I’ve been in Auckland since Monday night and I’m going to be honest with you: I’m a little freaked out.  I’m finding it very disconcerting to be in a strange city, not knowing where anything is, not recognising any of the street or suburb names, having no job to go to and nothing much to do.  We have one car between the two of us and, so far, I haven’t driven anywhere. I hate not knowing the way.

Actually, that’s not true – I do have to find somewhere to live.  At present we’re staying in a motel unit, kindly funded by Tristan’s new employer for his first three weeks in the country.  It’s fairly basic, but I guess that it has everything we need.  And the lack of space provides an excellent incentive to find a house.

The complicating factor is the need to find a dog-friendly rental property.  We saw a place yesterday that would house a dog – and had done so recently, judging by the state of the carpet – but the house itself was tucked away on a back section and in a fairly dreary neighbourhood.  We’re seeing a place today that seems more promising; we liked what we saw when we did a drive-by last night, and the landlady sounded decent when I telephoned her last night.

At the moment I’m breaking down my life into manageable chunks.  First job: find a rental property.  Next: organise our move and get our meagre collection of possessions (a bed, a book shelf, some bedside tables, a coffee table, some kitchen stuff) shifted up from my parents’ house in Feilding.  After that: wait for our container of furniture and belongings to arrive and get the house sorted out properly.  When that’s all done: start figuring out what to do with the rest of my life.  I also need to organise a trip to Sydney, but I’m delaying even thinking about that until we’ve found somewhere to live.  One step at a time.  And I need to get in touch with my Auckland friends.  I think it will do me good to see some familiar faces.

When we arrived in Auckland on Monday night it was in the midst of a huge rain storm, after a very slow car trip from Taupo.  Tristan had come down to Feilding for Easter and we’d travelled up during the whole day, visiting Kate and Stephen in Taupo on the way.  The weather continues to be fairly damp and gloomy, and the humidity has made my hair go stark raving mad: I’m going to have to grow it long again, to ensure that I can tie it back and forget about it.

It isn’t a surprise to me that I’m feeling slightly out of sorts: my whole life has changed.  Let’s be honest; anybody who knows me will have anticipated that the recent changes and current uncertainty would send me into a bit of a tail-spin.  I’m fine, though. I know that I just need to get things sorted and then I can start getting to grips with life in Auckland.  It was easy when I was in Feilding for a couple of weeks, safe in the bosom of the family.  It just felt like a holiday.  Being in Auckland, it feels more like the start of our new life.  EEK.

Today’s plan: view the house at midday; drop Tristan off at his work; be brave and drive around until I find my way back to the shops at Takapuna; buy a sat nav; get a new SIM card and reactivate my iPhone.

5 Responses to In Auckland

  1. Jackie D says:

    You have just the right attitude: First things first! Easy does it. One day at a time. (Still shocked at how much those simple, obvious slogans help me.) xx

    • exilednzer says:

      Thanks JD! You are totally right. And I’m taking comfort from constantly reminding myself that my current feelings are entirely normal and rational, in light of the major life changes I’m going through. So I’m not beating myself up about feeling freaked out, if you get what I mean. It will all be fine!

      • Jackie D says:

        “This is just a moment. It’s not the rest of your life” helps me a lot.

        Allowing yourself to freak out, knowing you have to go THROUGH it (not around it) is a great skill! Wish I had learned it long ago…

  2. S@sha says:

    Its funny, I’m going through something similar having made a quick move to CA. I’m going to look at a promising place to live in just a few minutes. I have a job, but that’s actually made exploring harder since I only have time on the weekends. Its weird having to figure out which grocery store sells the best produce, and where to beauty products. At the same time there is also something fun about it. It allows you to switch things up a little.

    Good luck, you’ll have it all figured out in no time!

    • exilednzer says:

      Thanks Sasha! It’s good to know that you’re in the same boat as me. And you are dead right – there is a lot of fun to be had while getting to grips with a new place.

Leave a Reply

