Leaving the firm

The hardest thing about leaving the UK is leaving my lovely, lovely job.  I would never have thought that I would have thought twice about the opportunity to return to NZ, but when it came to the crunch I really did need to think about what I would be giving up here.  Tristan first heard about the job opportunity in November, but we talked about it and decided that it was too soon for us to leave – we’d thought that we would think about making the move in 2013, so it all felt a little too soon.  And I knew that my area of business (corporate social responsibility) was fairly low-key in NZ – it seems to be a few years behind what’s going on in the UK.  So I thought that I would benefit from another couple of years of experience before heading back and trying to change the world. 

Anyway, it soon became apparent that the job opportunity for Tristan was just perfect and would not necessarily become available again for several years, so we had to go for it.  And I’m really glad that we did.  I am so sorry to leave the firm; I’ve loved every day of the past four years there and have been so fortunate to work for one of the best organisations in the world, surrounded by brilliant colleagues who treat each other with kindness and respect.  But the prospect of being able to ply my trade in my own country is just fantastic.  It’s daunting to think that I’m leaving behind a role where I’m liked and respected, where I’ve built up credibility and been able to make a real impact, both for my firm and for the charities and schools that we support, but I have had the opportunity to learn so much, and now I’m ready to push myself a bit further and see what I can really achieve.

When we arrive Tristan will start work straight away, but I’m going to take some time off.  To begin with, we’ll need to find somewhere to live, and then I’ll need to do some networking and planning.  I have a couple of ideas of what I might do next, but I will have a lot of leg-work ahead of me.

It’s scary, but it’s very exciting!

2 Responses to Leaving the firm

  1. Jackie D says:

    But think of all the great vintage shopping in Auckland! http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2011/apr/01/fashion-newzealand

    It’s been so wonderful to see how much you’ve thrived in and enjoyed your role at the firm. You’re going to kick some major backside in NZ!

Leave a Reply

