Modifications

I’ve been tinkering with my blog and have added two new pages: films, to list what I’ve watched (because I really do seem to watch a lot of films, as you will discover); and craft, to post photos of the stuff that I make throughout the year.

And I’ve started listing my recent reading material on the books page once again.  I’ve added the no-brainer stuff I read at the end of 2010 – the first three Diana Gabaldon novels (the most fantastic trashy historical stuff – highly recommended), and Jump! – the latest from Jilly Cooper.

Now, I’ve written before about my love of Jilly Cooper, but I’m sad to say that I think she’s finally passed her best-by date and it’s time that she was put out to pasture.  Jump! was pretty ordinary and parts of it were terrible.  This was my favourite sentence from the entire book:

“Sheep-coloured hills were covered in sheep.”

I can almost forgive the author for writing something like that (almost – she is getting on a bit, after all), but how did the typist fail to notice it?  And how did it survive the editing process? Astonishing.

3 Responses to Modifications

  1. S@sha says:

    LOVE those Diana Gabaldon novels. Seriously, they are the best trashy historical romance novels ever.

    • exilednzer says:

      Sasha, I haven’t read the most recent one yet, so I’m working my way through all of them again, before I get it. They’re every bit as good as I remembered!

      • S@sha says:

        I find that I don’t care quite as much for the Brianna/Roger story lines, as I do for Claire and Jamie, but the latest book actually had a couple developments that might make me change my mind. I’d like her to hurry up with the next one.

Leave a Reply

