Antipodean style

I used to visit The Sartorialist nearly every day, but I’ve got to be honest with you: I’ve gone off it a bit.  I tend to find that, when a blog writer becomes very well known and mainstream, the self-publicising gets a bit much – if I feel like I’m seeing too many ‘- oh, and I’ll be in Paris, taking photos at Fashion Week in a fortnight’s time’ posts I start to get bored.  Often, the tipping point is when a blogger publishes a book (which is why I no longer visit Cake Wrecks) – it seems to stop being about the subject of the blog and, instead, about the blogger and the ‘community’ that they feel like they’ve built.  Every second post starts to be about their book tour.  One very notable exception is Go Fug Yourself, which has managed to become wildly successful and remain hilarious and totally focused on making fun of celebrities’ wardrobe choices.  This is also why I like Nicola’s Ministry of Aesthetic Development, and the Wellington Daily Photo blog, and the Crafty Minx blog.   I like it when somebody comes up with a good idea and then sticks to it.

Anyway, I was pleased to find two Antipodean street style blogs during the week:

  •  We The People is based in Sydney and run by an ex-Wellingtonian.  I really like a lot of the shots – the fashion is far more edgy than I would have expected and, unlike The Sartorialist, the people in the photos look like real people with their own, individual style, and not like fashion world escapees.  Is it just me, or do most people featured in The Sartorialist look like models?
  • As the name suggests, Auckland Street Style is based in New Zealand’s largest city.  Like We The People, it shows the locals to be quirky and fashionable, but still normal people.  I like it a lot.

I think that I like style blogs showing real people because it’s the next best thing to going to strangers’ houses and rummaging through their wardrobes.  And it amazes me to see that people are far more creative and stylish than those I see around me (but I do work at an ultra-conservative law firm, so I’m probably forgetting that there is life beyond the grey suit…)

2 Responses to Antipodean style

  1. S@sha says:

    Happy New Year! I still read The Sartorialist and Garance Dore whenever they load into my reader, as well as quite a few personal style blogs of normal people. The Sartorialist is definitely photographing the fashion elite, but I like that he includes older people on occasion and lots of people in their 30s and 40s. So many fashion blogs are completely populated by models and 20 year olds that I don’t find them inspiring at all. I do agree that there seem to be more mentions of where the next book signing is than photos of people these days.

  2. Nicola Wood says:

    Aw thanks, hopefully there should be a bit more in-depth stuff relating fashion to politics on there this year, with the election campaigns starting soon!

    You may enjoy this blog, too, street fashion photography in Auckland and Wellington: http://www.streetandcityphotos.blogspot.com/

    Totally know what you mean about forgetting life beyond the grey suit. Working in politics in Wellington and being surrounded by public servants everywhere you go = black, grey, and briefcases.

Leave a Reply

