Making things

One thing I’ve realised this year is that I really like making things – I find it very relaxing and good fun.  So I’m going to do it more often.  To get things off on the right foot, I’ve made a few things recently.

Here’s the lemon curd I whipped up a couple of weekends ago:

God, what a palaver!  It wasn’t as bad as the elderberry jam making I tried a couple of months ago, but it was still a real schlep – so much stirring involved, and all for the sake of one little jar of the stuff.  It’s yummy, though – very nice on toast.

Yesterday I made these superb chocolate chip cookies:

The recipe came from the most recent Nigella Lawson cookbook, Kitchen and they’re made with both caster sugar and brown sugar, which is why they’re quite dark-coloured (and very toffee-tasting).  They are delicious and if I make them too often I will end up turning into one of those women about whom documentaries are made, on account of their vast size.

On the non-food front, I’ve made a present for our friends Geoff and Jane (and I won’t say any more now, in case they ever read my blog – I’ll take a photo of it when I’ve given it to them).  And I’m making myself an embroidery.  It’s going to be a picture of a Union Jack and it may well take me the rest of my natural life to finish it.  I’m stitching it on 18 point aida fabric – for those amongst you who don’t settle down with some embroidery every evening, that means that there will be 18 cross stitch stitches per inch of fabric.  This is very fine indeed and might send me blind, but it will look great if I manage to finish it before I die.  And I’ve upped the ante by taking the standard pattern and expanding it three-fold, so my finished Union Jack will be a mighty 25.5 inches wide and 13.5 inches high (for those of you who live with me in the modern Metric world, that’s 65cm wide and 34cm high). 

Before I started my mammoth Union Jack, I crocheted a scarf for myself:

The quick-witted amongst you will have noticed that I made the scarf with vertical stripes, instead of horizontal stripes.  That’s just the kind of girl I am – crazy and unpredictable.  I used three balls of Rowan Big Wool, which is lovely stuff to work with.

Finally, I’ve been separating stamps from their envelopes again, with plans afoot to make some art in the near future (as per the NZ stamp picture that I made earlier in the year).  Here are the stamps, just waiting for a second lease of life:

One Response to Making things

  1. Nicola Wood says:

    Those look really yummy, and the non-edibles very cute! I’ve been doing a lot of baking and sewing recenetly too, it’s a really nice feeling to create things isn’t it 🙂

Leave a Reply

