Christmas 2010

Sorry for the lack of updates! I write most updates at work, and this has been made difficult by our aged computer system.  It hasn’t been able to handle the rigours of uploading photos for a long time and now it crashes whenever I open any website with ‘wordpress’ in the url (which is cutting in to my time spent reading other blogs, as well).

But don’t worry – all you’ve missed is me writing variations of ‘it’s flipping freezing’ for two weeks.  This was the frost a couple of weeks ago:

This was the snow storm on the Saturday before Christmas:

And this was the snowy and sunny scene on Christmas Day:

That flying figure is none other than Tui the Christmas Wonder Dog.

Anyway, we’ve had a lovely and relaxing Christmas break – we’ve been at home the entire time and have eaten a lot, drunk a lot, slept a lot and watched a lot of rubbish on TV.  I’m heading back to work tomorrow, but it’s only a three-day week, followed by a three-day weekend, followed by a four-day week.  That’s the kind of schedule that I can handle.

I did work on Christmas Eve.  I don’t understand why anybody at my firm would take that day as annual leave: we arrived at 9.30am, we started drinking champagne at 11am, and we left at 12pm – the office closed completely at 1pm.  And most of my colleagues went to the staff restaurant for an hour-long breakfast from 9.30am – 10.30am (but not me: I was good and actually finished some work, like a girly swot).

My lovely family spent Christmas Day visiting my Auntie Jen and her partner, Denise, at their fab house in the Wairarapa.  Apparently my parents went, as did my two sisters and their respective husbands and boyfriends, and one niece and one nephew (the others were with their respective fathers).  And the weather was splendid and no fights broke out.  I’m sure that my family isn’t unusual in being liable to have a squabble or two after a few hours of close contact, but my sister pointed out something when I spoke to her last night: my grandmother wasn’t there (too frail to withstand the rigours of a day out), so she’s obviously the trouble-maker of the family.

Leave a Reply

