X Factor

I haven’t written anything about The X Factor before, largely because I tend to watch a couple of episodes of it (or any other music reality TV show) each season and then give it a wide berth.  However, one of the episodes I saw from this year’s series was an audition episode and, during it, a young girl called Cher Lloyd was shown.  She seemed like a fairly decent performer and from what I have gleaned, she’s still on the programme.

Last week I saw this story on the Daily Mail website and it’s played on my mind ever since.  It’s about Louis Walsh, one of the X Factor judges, doing his ‘I’m going to be all edgy and outspoken’ thing, with Cher as his topic.  Here are some of the quotes from the story:

He told Closer magazine: ‘I’ve heard rumblings of what is going on in the house – there’s a lot of parties… But Cher is definitely the out of control one!

‘She causes a lot of trouble. She’s as miserable and moody as she looks.’

And:

He added to Heat magazine: ‘Cher is believing her own publicity, which is a big mistake. I don’t get any warmth from her.

‘She needs to learn to be nice to everybody – because you’ll meet them on the way down.’

And:

He continued: ‘I couldn’t work with Cher. She thinks she’s going to be an overnight success, and because she listens to American R&B she’s picked up all these weird musical things and makes funny faces.

‘There’s no likeability there.

Remember, this is a 58 year old man, criticising the professionalism and temperament of a 17 year old girl in interviews with two celebrity magazines.   Nice, eh?  It’s probably no wonder that he doesn’t get any warmth from the poor little sod.  And I guess that whole ‘be nice to everybody’ rule doesn’t apply to him.

4 Responses to X Factor

  1. Franziska says:

    I think a lot of people seem to forget that she’s only 17. There is nothing wrong in my eyes for a young girl to have ambition and enthusiasm and she should be nurtured and encouraged and supported and not being portrayed as a diva by a man who is old enough to be her father!

    I find this year’s X-factor very controversial. The continuous harassment of Katie Waissel is heart breaking. She received death threats. I mean, have a bit of perspective, she’s a singer, not a terrorist.

    • exilednzer says:

      The coverage I’ve seen of this year’s series makes me wonder whether half of the population has turned into complete lunatics. And I particularly love the people who think that they’re sticking it to Simon Cowell by continuing to vote for Wagner, that dreadful old guy. When really, the best way to stick it to Simon Cowell would be to turn the stupid programme off and to stop spending money on votes…

      • Franziska says:

        Those are the same people who keep voting for Ann Widdecombe in Strictly Come Dancing (I admit it, I am glued to this programme every Saturday). And when you think of it, it doesn’t matter who they vote for, Simon Cowell will always make money, be it Wagner or anyone else who wins as long as people vote. I don’t watch X-factor once the contestants have been decided, the judges are so annoying and never say anything constructive.

  2. Ana says:

    Yes, or make sure that the x-factor winner doesn’t automatically get the Xmas number 1.
    I can’t stand the programme so I never watch it, but it did make me chuckle when Rage against the machine got the top spot last year.

Leave a Reply

