Handwritten letters

I am cheered by this article in the Guardian, about attempts to revive the art of sending handwritten letters.  I am a big fan of letter-writing and, at various stages of my life (such as when we moved back to NZ for a few months in 2004) I was a reasonably decent correspondent.  These days, only my grandmother receives letters from me, and even those aren’t as frequent as they should be.

Do you ever send a handwritten letter?  If not, why not?  Do you fancy joining me in the quest to revive this form of communication in some small way?

3 Responses to Handwritten letters

  1. S@sha says:

    I have basically stopped writing letters because it became so one-sided. Everyone loves to receive them, but no one ever writes back! Now I just try to write letters when I send thank you cards and such, because that’s a one-sided format already.

    • exilednzer says:

      I know for a FACT that I was one of the people who received a hand-written letter from you and didn’t respond to it. I suck! However, if you send me your postal address once again I will have a letter on its way to you by the end of the weekend. I promise!

      • S@sha says:

        Ha! That’s true now that you mention it, but I didn’t remember that before. I think part of the problem with letter writing is that it happens so rarely that everyone feels it needs to be long and cover a lot of news. It takes a long time to compose something like that, so they keep putting it off, and then there is even more news!

Leave a Reply

