Progress: 6 September

Another working week dawns and, yet again, I’ve eaten breakfast at home and brought my lunch to work!  I don’t think I’ve brought enough food for lunch, though: we had a fairly light dinner last night and I’ve been hungry all morning.  I had my toast this morning; I’ve eaten celery sticks and radishes as a mid-morning snack; I’ve eaten a ham roll and an orange and cranberry muffin for lunch; I’m thinking that I will make it until 3pm before I feel like I need to eat again.

Luckily, this isn’t a no spending day: I’ve had to top up my Oyster card on the way to work and I’m going to need to buy some cleanser online. 

I did manage to achieve most of the goals I set myself for the weekend:

  • Loafing around and doing nothing – yes, I did a lot of embroidery (I’m making a present for Anna’s new baby, Charlie), so I camped on the sofa for long periods and beavered away at it while watching films and catching up on programmes I had stored on Sky Plus.  I love Sky Plus so much.  The picture I’m making for Charlie is one from a kit: ordinarily I like to design samplers for friends’ weddings and baby presents, but I know that I’ll just end up taking forever to finish it if I try to be too creative at the moment.  And the picture I’ve chosen is very cute – I’ll show you what it looks like when I’ve finished it.  I had forgotten how much I love embroidery.  It’s so relaxing!
  • Rugby watching – yes, I saw most of the provincial game between Waikato and North Harbour on Saturday morning, the test match between the Springboks and Australia on Saturday afternoon and most of the Women’s World Cup Final between England and New Zealand on Sunday afternoon.
  • Sweet buying and eating – yes, I visited our lovely local sweet shop for my standard order: strawberry bonbons and dolly mixtures, plus a few fizzy Coke bottles for a bit of variety.
  • Jam making – yes, read all about it here.
  • Proper food making – kind of: I did some excellent food shopping and have a fridge full of healthy stuff for lunches and dinners this week.  And I made the afore-mentioned orange and cranberry muffins, some russian fudge and a frittata for dinner.  It was my first attempt at these muffins and they’ve turned out very well, although I can’t say that I absolutely love the taste: they’re only OK.  The fudge was a bit of a disaster: I think I pre-empted the ‘soft ball’ stage and didn’t cook it for long enough, so it’s much softer than it should be and all the beating in the world wouldn’t save it.  But it’s going to have five days to harden up, owing to my ‘no sweets during the week’ rule this month, so it might be slightly better by then.  The frittata was very tasty and I was quite pleased with it – I hadn’t made a frittata before.  We had it for dinner last night with a salad made from baby spinach, sliced nectarine and crumbled goat cheese.  Such a yummy salad!  I had pea shoots as well. That’s just how I roll.  Anyway, here are the muffins and the fudge:

  • A letter written and sent to my 95 year old grandmother – yes, three pages of excitement are winging their way to her as we speak.
  • A present sent to my older sister Philippa – yes, I posted it on Saturday.
  • A yummy present sent to lovely friend Anna – yes, it’s also on its way.  This is the same Anna who recently gave birth to Charlie and for whose older son, Sam, I made this sampler a while ago.  Anna and Lenka are the same person, in case you’re confused by anything you read in that post.
  • Joining the library – yes, did it on Saturday.  It’s fab! I mentioned it here.
  • Some writing – no, damn it.  I tried to do too much this weekend.  Next weekend the writing will be the third thing on the list (under ‘loafing around and watching rugby’ and ‘eating sweets’).

The other thing I had planned to do was to try to make pastry for the first time, but I ran out of energy in the kitchen and have put this off until next weekend.

2 Responses to Progress: 6 September

  1. Anna says:

    Magda! I loved reading this post (and not just because I feature in it a couple of times!). How lovely and kind that you are making Charlie a pressie. We just love Sam’s embroidery.
    Anyway, just wanted you to know that I’ve been thinking about you lots lately and will write email soon. (I have a good excuse for being incommunicado as you know)! Charlie is just adorable and so so precious. Poor little sausage has a terrible cold and cough, care of his older brother! So unfair! Breaks my heart to hear him coughing….
    Your baking sounds fab – Sam and I make banana bread this morning (fab Donna Hay recipe!) and yesterday we made this delicious slice called ‘Fay’s Mumbles’. Don’t ask me why it’s called that, but I assure you it’s bloody delicious!! Lots of love. xx

    • exilednzer says:

      Lenkadile! So lovely to hear from you. I hope that Charlie feels better soon and that Sam isn’t too snuffly. These children are known disease-carriers, you know…

      Can’t wait to catch up with you soon! XX

Leave a Reply

