Blood

I gave blood this morning. Oh yes! According to the records held by the NHS, I hadn’t done this since July 2007. I could have sworn that I’ve done it more recently than that, but I do have a memory that fails on a regular basis. Anyway, I’m going to try to book my next session now and make a regular thing of it.

Have I ever told you about the time when I gave blood and they didn’t leave enough time afterwards for clotting to commence, and as I went to leave my vein re-opened and what seemed like a vast amount of blood flowed down my arm and dripped off my fingers to form crimson pools of gore on the floor of the waiting room? The faces of the near-by would-be donors were quite hilarious.

Leave a Reply

