Boastful PM

Sometimes New Zealand really cracks me up. This article tickled my fancy: this quote from John Key (NZ’s Prime Minister) in particular:

“In the first instance what we get is personal relationships so if I needed to ring up the President of the United States I could do that and he would take my call.

“And that’s partly because I have developed a personal relationship from getting to know him at Apec or the nuclear security summit.”

He said that was true of other leaders too.

He was making the point that it is necessary for him to spend a lot of time abroad in order to develop good relationships with other world leaders, but I loved the way in which he sounded like a kid boasting about his cool friends.

2 Responses to Boastful PM

  1. Narly says:

    He probably calls him “Bazza”

Leave a Reply

